Uruguayan Cuisine…..what…where is that???

Uruguay is a very small country in South America found “under the lump of Brazil, right next to Argentina.”  That became my standard answer when people would ask, “Where’s Uruguay?”

Uruguayan cuisine is very much alike to Argentinian cuisine…..a lot of beef and vegetables, and some of the best hand-made pastries and ice creams that I have ever tasted!

One of the great advantages of living in Miami is that there is a never ending amount of new restaurants found in every nook and cranny of this large city to try out and experiment in.

This afternoon, I found myself visiting for the very first time “Punto Sur,” a Uruguayan restaurant located at 7902 NW 36th Street in Doral, really close by to Miami International Airport.

Since I walked in right around 3pm, I thought I would be the only patron, but I was wrong.  I was not the only one on a rainy Thursday afternoon seeking a late lunch.

I walked in and saw that there were at least half a dozen groups of people enjoying their late lunch.

After taking a seat, a waitress came by and handed me a menu to peruse. I was very pleasantly surprised that they had quite an array of appetizers, sandwiches and entrees to choose from, and some very tasty looking desserts.  I chose the “entrana” (skirt steak) with Russian salad and tomatoes. 

After the waitress took my order, I walked around the restaurant to get a good feel for it and of course had to ask if they had any Conaprole dulce de leche.

“We just ran out,” said one of the servers. “We should be getting a new shipment any day now.”  I was really pleased to hear that, since I had also just run out of my own supply!

Only a few minutes after that conversation, my lunch arrived on a large plate, with a very generous slice of skirt steak, a healthy portion of Russian salad (a potato salad with peas and carrots) and chopped tomatoes on the side. For less than $10, this was a fantastic lunch that I could definitely see myself coming back to enjoy time and again.  The meat was juicy; the Russian salad was delicious as I mixed fresh tomatoes with it, and enjoyed it in each bite.  I took my time with this meal as I knew that this would become my new favorite restaurant to visit for late lunches during the week.

On my way out, I had to ask for a “cortadito” (an expresso with milk) to go. What an awesome meal!  It was just what I needed on this rainy afternoon.

===========================================================================================

Punto Sur – 7902 NW 36th Street, Doral, Florida 33166 (305) 514-2499 Free WiFi

They serve breakfast till 11am and lunch till 4pm.

Entrees range from $7.99 to $13.99.

 

Leave a Reply

