Was it the Limoncello Lemon-Lime or the Banana & Dulce de Leche mini cupcakes that opened the door???

It was overcast last Friday afternoon.   By the time that I made it to West Kendall, I wanted to get some yogurt.  I had seen advertisements for Tart & Berry’s, but had never stopped in, so once I arrived at Kendall and 122nd, I made a right, another right and followed the signs to the Cafe.   Soon after I arrived, it began to pour! Talk about a rain shower.  I decided to hang out at the cafe for a while until it abated.

So what did I choose to do? Chat with one of the owners, Rosy.  We had a great conversation and I found out that not only do they have some awesome tasting yogurts, including pistachio (one of my favorites), strawberry, tiramisu, cheesecake and many others, they also have chicken pesto paninis, salads and wraps!  I felt compelled to share all about my new cooking ventures and healthier way of cooking and she shared that they also sell baked goods.  That was when I felt that I had to offer something different….and she was open to having a weekend taste test with some of my mini cupcakes!!!!

I was soooo excited I could hardly contain myself.  Practically running home, I went through my cupboards and decided to make some mini dulce de leche and banana cupcakes and then came up with a new recipe…..the Limoncello Lemon-Lime Mini cupcake!!! Talk about delicious…..tart and sweet at the same time, with that hint of Limoncello.  Yum….severe yum factor. 

The good thing about these is that they are MINI cupcakes.  I do believe in moderation, and yes, I struggle at times myself in stopping before eating way more than I need, so in making these small cupcakes, it allows you to make better decisions regarding just how much dessert to have!

In one of my cooking segments on www.doerstv.com/Ch12 I mention that portion control is important and that one basic size cupcake is enough, but some people told me that one is not enough!  It is a decision for every one to make but with the mini cupcakes, you can have two and not feel like you are falling off your diet.  You won’t be. 

These Limoncello Lemon-Lime Mini Cupcakes are worth their calories (approximately 100 calories)!  They do not have a lot of sugar – they are not the typical cupcake.  When we did the taste test, Isabel shared with me that customers found that they enjoyed the taste but that they did not find them as sweet as they thought that they would be.

When I bake, I opt to use pureed fruit as that sweet quotient.  I also use cake flour. It’s that mixture of using fresh lemon juice with  lime and the awesome Limoncello that adds that added “zing” that make these mini cupcakes worth the drive to Tart & Berry’s, located at 8711 SW 124th Avenue (at the shopping center where the Regal Cinemas is located right across from the Barnes & Nobles).

Be sure to go to Tart & Berry’s this weekend and try out the Limoncello Lemon-Lime Mini Cupcakes, and let me know what you think!!!

Have a wonderful weekend!

Gabi

One thought on “Was it the Limoncello Lemon-Lime or the Banana & Dulce de Leche mini cupcakes that opened the door???

Leave a Reply

