My citrus torrid love affair continues…..with lemons!

My grandmother had the loveliest lemon tree in the backyard.  From the first lemon that I plucked from that tree as a little girl, I’ve loved the lemoniness loveliness of fresh lemons!

So tonight after my Insanity workout (yes, I am now 3 weeks into the insanity of the Insanity workout) I sought good fuel after an awesome workout.  The challenge: create a healthy meal from my cupboards, so off I went in search thereof.

Found chicken thighs……tomato paste…..minced garlic…asparagus…a large and juicy lemon and an orange.  Simple, right?  And soooooo delicious!

I took about half a teaspoon of unsalted butter and allowed that to melt into two tablespoons of tomato paste and 2 tablespoons of minced garlic with a third of a cup of water and allowed those ingredients to marry before placing the chicken thighs right on top, with slices of lemon perched on each one, after having been juiced into the bubbling sauce.   After approximately 15 minutes, the chicken was turned over to its other side for another 10 minutes. I chopped the asparagus and dropped it right into the pan and allowed it to cook right with the chicken in that delectable sauce, juicing the orange right on top of the asparagus and leaving the orange in the pan. 

 

Not five minutes later, the aroma coming from the kitchen beckoned me for a taste test and oh my! How delicious.  I fixed myself a plate and enjoyed each bite!! 

 Talk about wonderful flavor…..it was just amazing how good lemons are with anything! I found that I couldn’t help myself from eating the lemon itself!!!

What a wonderful meal….and the best part – I’ve got my lunch and dinner for tomorrow from making this meal tonite! It’s easy, fast and so wonderfully tasty. 

I didn’t use any salt nor pepper nor any other spice……the lemon and orange did the work in creating such an awesome sauce with the minced garlic and tomato paste, so it’s an option for those that have to restrict their sodium intake.

Try it yourself and let me know what you think!!!

Have a blessed evening.

Gabi

Leave a Reply

