Orange Chicken cooked in a Balsamic Vinegar & Whisky Tomato Sauce

ImageStill wondering what kind of a dessert I will make this weekend for Mother’s Day, I knew that before coming up with a new dessert recipe, I’d have to feed myself a meal, so surfing through the fridge, opted to try making something different to cook chicken in:

tomato sauce

James Dean whisky

1 orange

balsamic vinegar (the good kind!)

I made a sauce of sorts with the ingredients previously mentioned and the chicken went on top…..cooked it well through for at least a good 20 minutes, till it was amazingly aromatic.  I don’t drink whisky, but I love using it for sauces…it just brings a new flavor profile to the chicken and the aroma coming from my kitchen was making me drool……

So while the chicken cooked, I sliced eggplant, breaded it into a Panko-parmesan mix, with a bit of salt and pepper, and broiled it with a slice of tomato on top.  Took the remaining cup of Valencia rice, and cooked it in two cups of low salt chicken broth, and after the chicken cooked through, took some of the sauce and put it in the rice…..dare I say that the rice was absolutely yummy?  It was……amazingly delish!

 

Leave a Reply

