Loving growing Jalapeños in an AeroGarden!

ImageImage

It is so easy to grow jalapeños! I never thought I’d be growing veggies, but with an AeroGarden, all you have to do it just make sure it has enough water and special veggie plant food!  It’s been fascinating watching them grow.

Seeing the jalapeños transition from a deep green to bright red called me to do what I called a “jalapeño tasting.”

Using the Bullet, a jalapeño was pulverized with 6 oz of tomato sauce, a dash of salt, and pepper, and voila! A semi-spicy tomato jalapeño sauce was created.

Then I chopped up a large onion with 4 tomatoes, red onion, salt, pepper, one green and one red jalapeño and about two tablespoons of fresh lime juice, to create my own kind of pico de gallo.

And last but not least, cheesy cheddar and parmesan biscuits made with fresh jalapeños and jalapeño salsa accompanied the tasting. Yes, you read that right……jalapeño sauce and fresh jalapeños as well as some pico de gallo went into the batter for the cheesy biscuits….and when these babies were done, taken right out of the oven….I admit….I had more than one. They were outstanding!  I had brushed cream on top of the biscuits and then sprinkled parmesan cheese on top…and me, oh, my…..those were just amazing biscuits!

Now I’m waiting to receive some jalapeño recipes from some Mexican friends to try something new!

 

Leave a Reply

