Did I really choose grapefruit as the snack of the week? …..morphed it into Grapefruit Cupcakes!

grapefruit cupcakes 009

Grapefruits are not known for their sweetness and I didn’t want to use a lot of sugar in these cupcakes…..so I didn’t! I ended up making a meringue style frosting and then placed some sugar drops on top……dare I say how delicious these are? They are not overly sweet, but just right and with the meringue frosting, it adds the sweetness to balance the tartness of the grapefruit. Used half a cup of fresh grapefruit juice, as well as the zest of an entire grapefruit…..turned out much better than I thought it would!

Leave a Reply

